Comment, Journalism, North America, Roaming

Travel Tuesday: There Is So Much of the World to See!

Since I’ve returned to the UK, people often ask me why I left Canada when my visa was up and didn’t apply for PR (Permanent Residency) instead.

My answer is always the same: “there is so much of the world to see!”

Working in Canada, I learned so much more about other countries: I made friends with Syrian refugees, I ate at Korean Tofu Houses (including Chinese dumpling spots and Vietnamese Pho cafes), and I met Iranians who had fled the Islamic Revolution. In the States, I adored the Mexicans and met many people from El Salvador, which was new for me.

All my life, I’ve been very fortunate to travel to many places, but something changed by being in North America…

Since it is such a multicultural continent, I became more aware of the different cultures, as I would come across a vast range of people from various countries in one day. It changed my perspective, made me more empathetic, and broadened my horizons.

Being a foreigner in North America myself, it made me wonder:

  1. What is life like from the other perspective?
  2. What is everyday life like in another culture?
  3. If this is the Western world, what is the Eastern world?”

It’s made me more curious and willing to stretch further out of my comfort zone.

That said, it gets a little overwhelming.

Since there is so much of the world to see, where do I start?

What's your take on the Eagle Eyed View?